About Theta Pi Lambda

Athar Haseebullah, Esq.

President of the Alumni Chapter

Brother Athar Haseebullah, Esq. serves as President of the Theta Pi Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Professionally, Bro. Haseebullah serves as Executive Director for the ACLU of Nevada. He previously served as general counsel and director of strategic initiatives for Opportunity 180, a Nevada non-profit focused on improving education quality in Nevada. Prior to his tenure with Opportunity 180, Bro. Haseebullah served as the Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada’s senior government affairs and legal administrator. Bro. Haseebullah also spent several years as a litigator for both Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada and the City of New York.

Bro. Haseebullah is a graduate of Howard University and Howard University School of Law. His organizational affiliations include his service as secretary for the Urban Chamber of Commerce, a member of the board of directors for the Interfaith Council of Southern Nevada, chairperson for the Masjid Ibrahim, and service with various other organizations.


Brother Athar Haseebullah, Esq. and Friends


Theta Pi Lambda

The Theta Pi Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. is based in las Vegas, Nevada. The chapter is comprised of members throughout the cities of las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Henderson and Summerlin. The chapter was officially chartered on October 31, 1964. The charter members consisted of 14 men who sought to enhance the lives of the residents throughout the Las Vegas Valley:

  • Bro. Onward Abington
  • Bro. William "Bob" Bailey
  • Bro. Marion Bennett
  • Bro. Cranford Crawford
  • Bro. Donald Foshee
  • Bro. Addeliar D. Guy
  • Bro. James McMillian
  • Bro. Donald Kirkland
  • Bro. John Moore
  • Bro. Oscar Little
  • Bro. Floyd Plymouth
  • Bro. William Pryor
  • Bro. George Simmons
  • Bro. Isaac White

Additionally, Alpha Phi Alpha in las Vegas has a distinguished list of member. They include, but not limited to the following:

  • James B. McMillian - 1st Black licensed dentist in Nevada; civil rights activist
  • Michael Douglas - 1st Black Nevada Supreme Court Chief Justice
  • Cedric Crear - Las Vegas City Councilman
  • William "Bob" Bailey - TV personality; civil rights activist
  • F. Travis Buchanan - Former President, National Bar Association Las Vegas Chapter
  • Steven Horsford - 1st Black Nevada U.S. Congressman

Chapter Officers

Bro. Athar Haseebullah - President
Bro. Marvin Norwood II - Vice President
Bro. Dr. Paul A. Cooks - Recording Secretary
Bro. Dr. B. Keith Rogers - Corresponding Secretary
Bro. Leonard Means - Financial Secretary
Bro. Michael D. Walker - Treasurer
Bro. Carey L Conner, Sr. - Chaplain
Bro. Christian X. Jones - Historian
Bro. Willie Demetras Byrd - Intake Coordinator
Bro. Lance Downes-Covington - Assoc. Editor/Sphinx
Bro. Ender Hope Austin, III - Director Educational Activities
Bro. Richard E. Wynn, Jr. - Sargeant-at-Arms
Bro. Michael John Franklin - Parliamentarian
Bro. Joshua Ohiozogie Igeleke, Jr. - Chapter Legal Council
Bro. Michael E. Blow - NPHC Representative